With a view to recognizing, promoting and supporting scientific excellence, EAS awards special prizes, medals and other expressions of honour to Ethiopian scientists who have made outstanding contributions to their specific fields and/or to the sciences in Ethiopia. The awards cover a variety of disciplines in the sciences.

  1. Awarding ExcellenceThe special awards of EAS are Gold Medals presented to three categories of excellence:
    • Natural Sciences, Engineering and Technology,
    • Medicine and Agriculture
    • Social Sciences & Humanities and Fine Arts

    The Awards Standing Committee is made up of Fellows of the Academy. It establishes networks with the scientific and academic communities both within and outside Ethiopia to identify scientists that could be considered for the Special Awards. About selection criteria for special awards click here.

  2. Competitive AwardsEAS organizes competitions that specifically aim at enhancing the quality and standard of scientific output within Ethiopia by awarding and publishing five outstanding PhD theses of newly graduated doctoral students who undertake their studies within Ethiopian institutions.

    EAS’s Competitive Awards Standing Committee, consisting of Fellows of the Academy, approaches Ethiopian universities & research institutions and identifies potential candidates for the Award.

    EAS publishes selected theses in the form of articles in special issues of its journal.

EAS History1

Read More

About Us.

The Ethiopian Academy of Sciences (EAS) is a nonprofit and non-governmental organization established to promote a culture of scientific inquiry and creativity and the pursuit of excellence and scholarship in the sciences among Ethiopians. EAS, which was established in 2010 with 49 Fellows, was recognized by Act-of-parliament in 2013 with Proclamation No. 783/2013. As of […]

Read More


Our Fellows are scholars of national and international stature who have made significant contributions to the growth of knowledge in Ethiopia. There are three categories of Fellows of the Academy: Fellows, Associate Fellows, and Honorary Fellows. New Fellows and Associate Fellows, who fulfil the Academy’s eligibility criteria, are selected annually based on the nomination of […]

Read More