About Us.

The Ethiopian Academy of Sciences (EAS) is a nonprofit and non-governmental organization established to promote a culture of scientific inquiry and creativity and the pursuit of excellence and scholarship in the sciences among Ethiopians. EAS, which was established in 2010 with 49 Fellows, was recognized by Act-of-parliament in 2013 with Proclamation No. 783/2013. As of January 2017, EAS has a membership of 121 Fellows, 41 Associate Fellows and 1 Honorary Fellow, all who have made outstanding contribution to the expanding knowledge in their respective fields. Our Fellows contribute to realizing the vision of the Academy through six Working Groups by undertaking consensus studies, organizing conferences and workshops, recognizing excellence, and providing platforms where the scientific publications of Ethiopian scholars are made accessible to the public. Our Academy embraces the diverse disciplines of science and recognizes the irreplaceable role each play in developing innovation, creativity and enriching the quality of life for Ethiopians and hence has and continues to make a concerted effort to ensure that the diverse disciplines of sciences are, as much as possible, represented in the composition of our Fellows and Working Groups.

Download the Booklet

EAS History1

Read More


With a view to recognizing, promoting and supporting scientific excellence, EAS awards special prizes, medals and other expressions of honour to Ethiopian scientists who have made outstanding contributions to their specific fields and/or to the sciences in Ethiopia. The awards cover a variety of disciplines in the sciences. Awarding ExcellenceThe special awards of EAS are […]

Read More


Our Fellows are scholars of national and international stature who have made significant contributions to the growth of knowledge in Ethiopia. There are three categories of Fellows of the Academy: Fellows, Associate Fellows, and Honorary Fellows. New Fellows and Associate Fellows, who fulfil the Academy’s eligibility criteria, are selected annually based on the nomination of […]

Read More